By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: . You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact
Featured Articles feat-article-tray-tab

The Chicago Urban League Announces Class of 2023 Fellows for its IMPACT Leadership Development Program

The Chicago Urban League has selected 44 emerging leaders for the 2023 cohort of its IMPACT Leadership Development Program, an intensive, nine-month program that helps Black professionals advance in their careers while building a more diverse pipeline of leaders across Chicago.

The cohort, which includes talented individuals from the corporate, government and nonprofit sectors, is the program’s ninth since IMPACT began in 2014. Fellows are nominated by their employers and are selected through a competitive application process. More than 100 organizations in the Chicagoland area have sponsored IMPACT Fellows.

“With an eight-year track record of bringing in diverse and accomplished individuals as Fellows to the program, IMPACT continues to show the need for equitable leadership development opportunities and for equity-focused leaders,” said Karen Freeman-Wilson, President and CEO of the Chicago Urban League.

In partnership with the University of Chicago Booth School of Business, one of the world’s leading business schools, the League invites prominent academics, subject matter experts, and industry leaders to share their knowledge and insights with Fellows through day-long classroom experiences and supplemental sessions. IMPACT Fellows will also receive leadership assessments and mentoring.

“We are appreciative of the Booth School of Business for their continued support of developing Black leaders in Chicago” said Mavis Laing, Vice President and Executive Director of IMPACT.

Program partners include the MacArthur Foundation, the Hearst Foundation, and corporate donors and organizations from all sectors who sponsor Fellows.

Sessions for the 2023 IMPACT class will begin in September 2022. Applications for the 2024 class will be available in March 2023. For more information visit the IMPACT program page on our website.

The 2023 IMPACT Fellows are:

Bosé Akadiri Manager, Citizen Philanthropy, Salesforce 
Doug Anderson Senior Manager- Compliance, Charles Schwab
Chanelle Bell Vice President, External Affairs, Teach For America Greater Chicago-Northwest Indiana
Alex Black Assistant State’s Attorney, Cook County State’s Attorney’s Office
Melissa Brinson Senior Manager, Contracts, Invenergy LLC
Tiffany Brown Clinical Specialty Pharmacist, CVS Specialty
Jerry Bwanhot Staff Engineer, UL Solutions
Danielle Clark Associate Director, Pritzker Tech Talent Labs, Discovery Partners Institute
Christopher Crater Senior Associate, My Brother’s Keeper Alliance, Obama Foundation
Sevara Davis SVP/Chief Operating Officer, POAH Communities
Patrick Echols Integrated Services Engagement Specialist, CDW
Tobenna Egwu Deputy Director, Research, Operations, and Innovation, Cook County Government
Janine Franklin Senior Director of Student Culture and Support, Noble Schools
Leslee Giles Senior Manager, Accenture
Dara Gray Basley Director of Health Equity, Access Community Health Network
Patrick Hendricks Director of Development, Rush University Medical Center, West Side United
Tamara Hoff Pope Vice President of Programs, Chicago Scholars
Brittany Hughes AVP Commercial Lender, Fifth Third Bank
Melanie Jefferies Midwest Regional Leader, Milhouse Engineering and Construction
Reneisha Jenkins Vice President, Imaging Technology, Advocate Aurora Health
Tomorris Jocelyn Vice President, BMO Harris Bank
Blake-Anthony Johnson President & CEO, Chicago Sinfonietta
Michelle Kemp Founder & Consultant, MK Consulting Group LLC
Danan Kirby Client Portfolio Manager, Ariel Investments, LLC
Michelle Kittrell Statistics and Financial Reporting Manager, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Valencia Koker Managing Director of Impact, City Year Chicago
TaQuoya McConnico Executive Director, Illinois House Democratic Caucus
Mohamed Mohamedein Senior Engineer- System Modernization Program, WEC Energy Group
Jennifer Polk Chief Marketing and Digital Experience Officer, Feeding America
Dominique Price Associate, Hinshaw Culbertson
Gina Ricard Associate Director, Ichor Strategies
Charlique C. Rolle Executive Director, Congo Square Theatre Company
Latricia Seye Director of Independent Living, Access Living
Nick Shields Director of Communications & Public Affairs, Cook County, Offices of the President- Toni Preckwinkle
Kevin Sims Sourcing Manager, McDonalds
Royce Strahan Sr. Communications Manager, Campaigns, Amazon
Lauren Terrell Producer, BET Ad Sales Production, Paramount
Craig Thames HR Analytics & Intelligence Manager , UL Solutions
Paris Thomas Co-Executive Director, Rush University Medical Center/Equal Hope
Timothy Turner Director, Pharmacy Insights, Walgreens
Justin Walker Design Researcher & Strategist, ChiByDesign
Bruce Woods II Vice President, Advanced Development Program, Northern Trust
Constance Wright Assistant Dean of Academic Standing, Northwestern University